E. Dale Abel, MD, PhD | Amgen

E. Dale Abel, MD, PhD., is the William S. Adams Distinguished Professor of Medicine, Chair and Executive Medical Director of the Department of Medicine in the David Geffen School of Medicine and UCLA Health. He was formerly a Professor of Medicine, Biochemistry and Biomedical Engineering, Chair of the Department of Medicine and Director of the Fraternal Order of Eagles Diabetes Research Center at the University of Iowa where he held the John B. Stokes III Chair in Diabetes Research and the François M. Abboud Chair in Internal Medicine.

Dr. Abel has had a distinguished career in endocrine and metabolism research. His pioneering work on glucose transport and mitochondrial metabolism in the heart guides his current research interests: molecular mechanisms responsible for cardiovascular complications of diabetes. His laboratory has provided important insights into the contribution of mitochondrial dysfunction and aberrant insulin signaling, to heart failure risk in diabetes. Recent work has focused on mitochondrial mechanisms that mediate inter-organ crosstalk that may influence the pathophysiology of insulin resistance and mitochondrial pathways linking metabolism with increased risk for atherothrombosis.

Dr. Abel’s research program has been continually funded by the National Institutes of Health since 1995, and by the American Heart Association, the American Diabetes Association, and the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation. Dr. Abel is the recipient of numerous awards for scholarship and mentorship. He is an elected member of the American Association of Physicians (AAP), the American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI), National Academy of Medicine (NAM), and the American Clinical and Climatological Association (ACCA). Dr. Abel is a past President of the Endocrine Society and is currently President of the Association of Professors of Medicine (APM).

In recognition of his distinguished achievements and contributions to endocrinology and cardiology, Dr. Abel was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in May 2022.